Dunholme St Chad's Church Of England Primary School

  1. Curriculum
  2. National Curriculum

What is the national curriculum in England?

Maintained schools in England must teach the national curriculum to pupils aged approximately 5 to 16 years old. The national curriculum is divided into four key stages. It includes different subjects at different stages, but maths, sciences, English, physical education and computing are included at all stages.

Academies and free schools don’t have to follow the national curriculum. They must, however, offer a broad and balanced curriculum that covers English, maths, sciences and RE. Primary academies and free schools must also take part in national curriculum assessments, commonly referred to as SATs.

We must offer a curriculum which:

  • promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils at the school 
  • prepares pupils for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life
  • comprises all learning and other experiences that each school plans for its pupils
  • makes provision for a daily act of collective worship and must teach religious education to pupils at every key stage 


The National Curriculum forms part of the school curriculum. 

Click here to view the National Curriculum for England